Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe

Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe

A Novel With Recipes

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6

"[A] heartwarming story a la Bridget Jones' Diary with a twist...Colgan folds in a colorful cast of characters and whips up an easy, sweet read."--USA Today

Issy Randall can bake. No, Issy can create stunning, mouthwateringly divine cakes. After a childhood spent in her beloved Grampa Joe's bakery, Issy has undoubtedly inherited his talent. She's much better at baking than she is at filing, so when she's laid off from her desk job and loses her boyfriend, Issy decides to open her own little café. But she soon learns that her piece-of-cake recipe for a fresh start might be a little more complicated than throwing some sugar and butter together.

A smart, quirky contemporary confection of recipes and friendship, Meet Me at the Cupcake Café is about how life might not always taste like you expect, but there's always room for dessert!

Also by Jenny Colgan:
The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris
Sweetshop of Dreams

What reviewers are saying about Meet Me At The Cupcake Café:
"A hilarious, fast-paced fantasy about starting over, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella. Absolutely adorable."--Booklist
"A funny novel about friendship, food and love... "--Kirkus
"A delightful story... warm, funny and well-written."--Fresh Fiction
"Absolutely adorable... charming... an endearing, delightful read"--Silver's Reviews

Publisher: Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Landmark, 2013
ISBN: 9781402281808
Branch Call Number: COLG
Characteristics: xiii, 410 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
g
Gerry_21
Jan 23, 2019

Another nice story from Jenny Colgan, this one set in London. The recipes look good too :-)

l
LauraSteinert
Aug 20, 2018

Until I read this one, I thought Jenny Colgan could do no wrong. This should have been a five hour read--but I just keep setting it aside to do ANYTHING else but finish it. Horrible children, really annoying long passages of describing how fat her friends are, how skinny and sharp-edged the hated Christine is, and pointless endless asides that take the book nowhere, with a long lists of names of characters that never appear after a single mention. Not one person in the book to like except the (Fat) roommate--who is fat, because she eats too much fat making cake, so I get it, Helena is fat. Completely disappointing.

j
jac523
Aug 14, 2018

Another delightful confection from Jenny Colgan! The perfect summer read. Disclaimer: don't read this if you're hungry, you may be compelled to bake!

Super cute British chick lit, with best friends, family troubles, romantic failures and possibilities, and cupcakes. So many cupcakes.

LaughingOne Jun 15, 2014

Unlike in "The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris", the recipes provided in this novel fit; they were appropriate for the storyline. And Issy is a quite likable character, especially once she starts following her own dream. Jenny Colgan brings together a variety of people who don't seem to fit, but they do manage to get along pretty well. There is a cad, of course, who doesn't treat Issy well. But this is a light romance and all ends well.

c
cupcake10
Aug 05, 2013

Great title!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
FSPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top