Emperor of the Eight Islands

Emperor of the Eight Islands

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"In the opening pages of the action-packed Book One of Lian Hearn's epic Tale of Shikanoko series--all of which will be published in 2016--a future lord is dispossessed of his birthright by a scheming uncle, a mountain sorcerer imbues a mask with the spirit of a great stag for a lost young man, a stubborn father forces his son to give up his wife to his older brother, and a powerful priest meddles in the succession to the Lotus Throne, the child who is the rightful heir to the emperor barely escaping the capital in the arms of his sister. And that is just the beginning. As destiny weaves its rich tapestry, a compelling drama plays out against a background of wild forests, elegant castles, hidden temples, and savage battlefields. This is the medieval Japan of Lian Hearn's imagination, where animal spirits clash with warriors and children navigate a landscape as serene as it is deadly.The Tale of Shikanoko, Book One: Emperor of the Eight Islands (April 2016) The Tale of Shikanoko, Book Two: Autumn Princess, Dragon Child (June 2016) The Tale of Shikanoko, Book Three: Lord of the Darkwood (August 2016) The Tale of Shikanoko, Book Four: The Tengu's Game of Go (September 2016)"--
Publisher: New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2016
Edition: First American edition
ISBN: 9780374536312
Branch Call Number: FANT HEAR
Characteristics: xi, 251 pages : map


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
ChristchurchLib Jun 27, 2016

The author of the Tales of the Otori series returns to her fantastical version of feudal Japan for this new epic saga. After surviving his greedy uncle's plot to murder him and steal his inheritance, orphan teen Kazumaru is taken in by sorcerer Shisoku, who dubs the lad Shikanoko, or "the deer's child." Taking possession of a magical mask, Shikanoko subsequently becomes involved in the civil war that's tearing society apart as warring factions vie for control of the empire. If you enjoy the morally ambiguous characters and political intrigue of this exciting series starter, keep an eye out for its forthcoming sequels: Autumn Princess, Dragon Child; Lord of the Darkwood; and The Tengu's Game of Go.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors


Subject Headings


Find it at FSPL

To Top