She-wolves

She-wolves

The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

"Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding." --Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall

In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian Helen Castor delivers a compelling, eye-opening examination of women and power in England, witnessed through the lives of six women who exercised power against all odds--and one who never got the chance. Exploring the narratives of the Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and other "she-wolves," as well as that of the Nine Days' Queen, Lady Jane Grey, Castor invokes a magisterial discussion of how much--and how little--has changed through the centuries.

Publisher: New York : Harper/Collins, 2011
ISBN: 9780061430763
Branch Call Number: 941 SHE 2011 22
Characteristics: xv, 480 p. : ill., maps

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
templestoweyoga
Jan 28, 2015

Really interesting book if you are interested in pre-Elisabethean history. Specifically, why and how heireditary royalty came about. Helen Castor writing is a mixture of story telling and historic information. It's a pity someone decided they took exception to one comment in her book and defaced the sentence. I will be looking to read more of her histories.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FSPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top