A Redbird Christmas

A Redbird Christmas

A Novel

Large Print - 2004
Average Rating:
7
1
Rate this:
With the same incomparable style and warm, inviting voice that have made her beloved by millions of readers far and wide, New York Times bestselling author Fannie Flagg has written an enchanting Christmas story of faith and hope for all ages that is sure to become a classic. Deep in the southernmost part of Alabama, along the banks of a lazy winding river, lies the sleepy little community known as Lost River, a place that time itself seems to have forgotten. After a startling diagnosis from his doctor, Oswald T. Campbell leaves behind the cold and damp of the oncoming Chicago winter to spend what he believes will be his last Christmas in the warm and welcoming town of Lost River. There he meets the postman who delivers mail by boat, the store owner who nurses a broken heart, the ladies of the Mystic Order of the Royal Polka Dots Secret Society, who do clandestine good works. And he meets a little redbird named Jack, who is at the center of this tale of a magical Christmas when something so amazing happened that those who witnessed it have never forgotten it. Once you experience the wonder, you too will never forget A Redbird Christmas. From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York : Random House Large Print, 2004
Edition: Large print ed
ISBN: 9780375433894
0375433899
Branch Call Number: LP FLAG
Characteristics: 327, [26] p

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

adcl Feb 08, 2017

Wonderful Story!

a
artemishi
Oct 03, 2014

A Redbird Christmas is typical Fannie Flagg- a heartwarming, tear-jerking story about small-town America, set in a Norman Rockwell concept of humanity.

That sounds trite, but I actually enjoy her stories. They're easy to read, and always end on a note of hope. In this case, I think they also carry a little extra charm for artistic and painterly types, birders, and fans of the South (especially Alabama).

The setting is quaint and the people made me smile, and Fannie Flagg can definitely turn a phrase. A few had me chuckling, and it was a great novel for Christmastime, given the hope and love in it (without any heavy-handed Christian overtones or saccharine "magic of Christmas" messages).

I recommend this for fans of Garrison Keillor, Prairie Home Companion, Fannie Flagg, old-town Alabama, quick-read heartwarming stories, and nostalgic Americana.

deborah2252 Apr 30, 2012

Ick. Fannie phoned this one in. A disappointment.

d
DeltaQueen50
Dec 08, 2011

A seasonal feel-good story, A Redbird Christmas by Fannie Flagg was just what the doctor ordered. Oswald T. Campbell, following his doctor’s orders, leaves his lonely existence in Chicago and travels to the warmer climate of Alabama. He is warmly welcomed by the citizens of Lost River, and although Oswald has been told he doesn’t have long to live, his life takes an amazing turn for the better.

Full of interesting and eccentric characters like the postman who delivers the mail by boat, the various members of the Mystic Order of the Royal Polka Dots, a secret society of do-gooders and the friendly store keeper and his tame red cardinal. This is a town with heart, and when they decide to take a abandoned little girl under their wing, they put their heart and soul into making her a happy, healthy child.

I loved this slightly magical story, that for me had just the right touch of sentimentality that I look for at this time of the year. A book to curl up with while enjoying the lights of your Christmas Tree with a cup of cocoa in your hand.

c
cindymaxwell
Sep 28, 2010

I love Fannie Flagg and the first 95% of this book was great. Unfortunately, Ms. Flagg must have run out of time or inspiration and the ending was flat, trite and highly disappointing.

waterthrush Nov 25, 2009

A wonderful Christmas read!

c
Cabby
Nov 04, 2007

Excellent

Summary

Add a Summary

c
Cabby
Nov 04, 2007

Neglected and physically handicapd child adopted by a childless couple in a small town.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FSPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top