Book - 2003
Average Rating:
Rate this:
True magic more amazing than fiction. Fictional wizards such as Gandalf and Harry Potter are no match for readers of Magic, Sylvia Funston's latest addition to the Strange Science series. Magic has long been a topic of perennial interest to children and adults alike -- and today more so than ever, with the phenomenal successes of Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings. All around the world and throughout history, magic has been used to explain the inexplicable. Now, Magic goes beyond the wand, behind the broomstick and inside the crystal ball to reveal all the scientific secrets that explain magical occurrences. From the Aurora Borealis to the secrets of the runes, through healing magic, superstitions, alchemy, and movie magic, young readers will discover that magic has many forms. Topics covered include: Who were the first magicians? Seeing the future Healing magic Tools of the trade Stage and screen magic Magic tomorrow -- will science explain all of life's mysteries?
Publisher: Toronto : Maple Tree Press, c2003
ISBN: 9781894379342
Branch Call Number: 133.43 2003 21
Characteristics: 40 p. : col. ill. ; 29 cm
Additional Contributors: Weissmann, Joe


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at FSPL

To Top