The Girl Before

The Girl Before

A Novel

Large Print - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
31
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in Cabin 10, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman's seemingly good fortune, and another woman's mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD

Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.

The request seems odd, even intrusive--and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.

EMMA
Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant--and it does.

JANE
After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space--and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home's previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.

Praise for The Girl Before

"Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning--a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense." --Lee Child

" The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we're not provided either woman's answers." --The New York Times

"J. P. Delaney builds the suspense." -- Vanity Fair

"Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there's not only more where that came from, but it's also more thrilling." -- American Booksellers Association
Publisher: New York, New York : Random House Large Print, [2017]
Edition: First large print edition
ISBN: 9781524778163
Branch Call Number: LP DELA
Characteristics: 486 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
Bean1988
Oct 10, 2018

Very good.

g
Gulkh
Jun 21, 2018

I was super excited to read this. The story started off well, two characters at different phases of life. Throw in the enigmatic landlord and a stunning eerie house and you have a winner,right? But the deeper you delve into the story, the more predictable it gets. I think the author read fifty shades of grey and gone girl and decided to put out a combination of these books.

It doesn't really work, nothing grabs you and by the end the plot is flimsy and see through.

n
natcin7
Jun 20, 2018

March 26 2017
Although there are two narrators who describe the events in alternating chapters, their voices are indistinguishable, one from the other. Is it Jane or is it Emma who is talking? The reader has to check the chapter heading to know for sure. Both women are caught up in a lurid and sensational mystery that propels the reader from one page to the next. It is suspenseful, but the explicit sexual encounters are gratuitous. This is not good literature. I would rate it 2 1/2 out of 5 stars. NC

movieangel May 17, 2018

Two stories centered around this house and its architect made for some interesting drama and narrative style in this book. While it certainly kept me reading, I felt like the reveals near the end was predictable and found it difficult to connect to any of the flawed characters.

b
brooklynheart5
Apr 30, 2018

Interesting book and a compelling read. Had me hooked.Enjoyed it.

m
mimihardy
Apr 09, 2018

Lots of sex, mysterious deaths, really boring. Gave up after a few chapters.

CRRL_MegRaymond Feb 27, 2018

Would you take a great deal on an architectural gem of an apartment if there were strange and disquieting strings attached to the deal?

t
TaniaDunne
Feb 18, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to others if you liked the girl on the train!!

c
CabiriCat
Feb 02, 2018

I actually really enjoyed this book and found it a compelling read...and this isn't really my preferred genre. (maybe that's why?) It was an eerie, interesting plot, without going too far down the road of gore. And I felt the book did a good job with it's ending.

This book is similar in vain to the "Girl on Train" which I found very compelling, albeit a little dark. And I preferred it to "The Woman in Cabin 10."

n
Newmommy09
Jan 10, 2018

Dull writing, boring premise. I got through 30 pages and gave up. Pretentious and unappealing.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FSPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top